oreo cheesecake recipe

I will start off by sharing a bit of my baking story to encourage the faint hearted bakers out there. 

I have to thank my ex-housemate who is a passionate cook himself for encouraging me in my early years of baking. I started baking in my first year of med school but the first 2 cakes was such a failure that I gave up completely. 

Then, in my second year of med school, I moved into a house occupied by 2 other passionate cooks. That was when my passion for food grew exponentially. Yet, I was reluctant to bake after what happened. My ex-housemate then encouraged me to bake for my boyfriend’s (now ex-bf) birthday and since then I never stop baking.  I always wondered how my ex-housemate (a guy!) is so good at cooking and I will always remember the answer he gave me 6 years ago, ‘give yourself 5 years of practice, and you will be as good as me’. and hey, 5 years later, I find myself walking in his footsteps, looking for opportunities to further improve my baking skills. I have never been to any cookery school, so I have to unfortunately learn the hard way. 

As long as you don’t give up, you will improve with practice and things will only get better from there. Just never give up!

A few pics from the past (taken 6 years ago):

The blackforest at the front of the picture was baked by my ex-housemate and I was the novice back then baking the cake which is behind his cake. I was baking my first ever cream cake for my cell group leader’s birthday. My cake is not as presentable as his cake. :p

I thank my ex-housemate for inspiring me. This was a blackforest which he made 6 years ago and the cakes he baked has always left me in awe. 

Under his watchful eye, this tiramisu cheesecake was the first cake which I baked for my boyfriend back then and yes, my ex-bf also played a role in my passion in cooking as I always am desiring to cook/ bake for him to bless his tummy!

Now back to the Oreo cheesecake – one of the first cake which I created the recipe myself. 

It was a hit when I created this recipe 6 years ago. Many people loved it. Over the years, I developed new skills and explored new cakes. But from time to time, I do come back baking my first love. 

Photos of my oreo cheesecake which I made 6 years ago. Time flies doesn’t it!

 

Oreo White Chocolate Cheesecake

For the base:

1) 200g oreo biscuits

2) 50g unsalted butter

For the filling:

1) 300g good quality white chocolate, broken into pieces

2) 400g full-fat soft cheese

3) 150ml soured cream

4) 2 eggs

5) 1 tsp vanilla extract

6) 10 pieces oreo biscuits (adjustable to own preference)

Steps:

1) Preheat the oven to gas 3/160C/325F. Make the base: put the biscuits in a plastic bag and crush using a rolling pin. In a small non-stick pan, melt the butter then stir in the biscuit crumbs and mix well. Using the back of the metal spoon, press the mixture evenly into the bottom of a 9 inch springform cake tin. Chill.

2) Make the filling: melt the chocolate. In a bowl, briefly stir the cheese, soured cream, eggs and vanilla extract together with a wooden spoon to blend lightly. DO NOT overbeat (too much air makes the cheesecake rise, then sink, or else, then crack). Add the melted chocolate and stir until smooth (the mixture will thicken slightly). Crush the 10 pieces of oreo biscuits as fine as you can in a plastic bag. Add the crushed biscuits into the mixture and mix well (careful with overbeating).

3) Spread the mixture evenly over the biscuit base and level the top. Bake for 50 minutes until the mixture feels firm round the edge and is slightly soft but set in the middle (It is important not to overcook the cheesecake, or it will go grainy around the edge).

4) Remove from the oven and leave to cool. Remove the cake from the cake tin and chill. When ready to serve, decorate as you wish. I tend to decorate the top with chocolate curls, thanks to my ex-housemate who taught me how to do it many years ago. 

A question that everyone always ask:” Do I need to remove the cream in the centre of the oreo biscuits before crushing the biscuits?”

Answer is you don’t have to! 

Leave a Reply

