Pandan chiffon cake recipe

I would like to share one of my favourite food i.e. Chiffon cake. To be exact, pandan chiffon cake!

First of all, I have to thank my good friend ( was in Leeds but now in Msia) who sacrificed a luggage space for my chiffon cake tin! I got the chiffon cake tin from him probably 5 years ago, but only started baking chiffon cakes 1 and half years ago. I was afraid to bake it initially as I was worried about whisking the egg whites till firm peaks. I used to buy an electric hand mixer which did not do the job well so I never really bake sponge cakes till I bought my Kenwood stand mixer!

Kenwood stand mixer is probably one of my worthwhile investments as my success rates with cakes have gone up since the purchase of my precious. Gone are the days where I whisk cream/egg whites by hand. Gone are the days where I used to beat the dough with my hand. When I look back at my life as a medical student, I have no idea how I had such stamina to beat/whisk everything by hand!! Well, back then, I could not afford a stand mixer so I had to work harder to get things done. I don’t even know how did I managed without a stand mixer in the past as I used to sell cakes quite frequently and had to bake ever so often.

I should have bought my stand mixer when i was a medical student, then I did not have to suffer so much. :p

Oh well, now you know the importance of it! My sister did not believe me when i told her that she needed one. Her sponge cakes never seem to work out well until she bought one after awful lots of persuasion from me.

 

My kenwood stand mixer. Looking for an upgrade.

For the pandan chiffon cake, get a stand mixer or you gonna hand whisk till your arm breaks! I followed a few recipes for my pandan chiffon cake. In the end, I settled for Rasa Malaysia pandan chiffon cake recipe as it is one of the easiest with satisfying results.

Pandan chiffon cake recipe by Rasa Malaysia:

 

Ingredients

Step 1:

8 medium egg yolks

2oz  fine sugar

2oz Pandan /Screwpine Leaves Juice ( Made from blending 6 Screwpine leaves with 2 – 3 oz water)

3oz corn oil or olive oil

5oz self raising flour

Method:

  1. Beat egg yolk and sugar lightly with a hand whisk till sugar dissolve.
  2. Stir  in pandan juice and corn oil.
  3. Fold self raising flour into egg mixture.
  4. Set aside.

Step 2:

Ingredients:

8 egg whites

5 oz fine sugar

pinch of salt

Method:

  1. Beat egg whites till frothy. Slowly add in sugar and pinch of salt while beating at high speed.
  2. Beat until the egg white is stiff and shining but not dry. ( About 3 minutes)

Step 3:

  1. Preheat oven at 175 degrees Celsius.
  2. Use a spatula and gently fold egg yolk mixture into the egg white mixture(meringue).
  3. Pour into an ungreased 25cm tube pan.
  4. Bake for 40-45 minutes.
  5. Once cake is cooked, remove cake from oven immediately and invert  pan onto wire rack. Let it cool before removing cake from pan.

Some pictures to illustrate:

 

After blending the pandan leaves, just put it in the sieve to get the green extract.

Step 1: method 1 and 2.

step1: method 3

step 2: method 2

Just realised that I never actually took a photo of the end product despite already baking this pandan chiffon cake countless times. I will remember to take a pic next time and upload onto this entry!

3 thoughts on “Pandan chiffon cake recipe

  1. This is very interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your feed
    and look forward to seeking more of your wonderful post.
    Also, I’ve shared your site in my social networks!

  2. Pingback: Chiffon cake | My Mix and Bake

Leave a Reply

