Galvin at Windows review

On one of my foodie marathon visits down to London, I decided to visit Galvin at Windows which is a one michelin star restaurant in London. Truth be told, reason for eating at Galvin at Windows was because of its location, i.e. it is situated on the 28th floor of the London Hilton on Park Lane in Mayfair and overlooking the city, Hyde Park and Buckingham Palace.

But as you can tell from my pic, I am not quite seated near the window to catch any of that spectacular views.

 

Galvin at Windows is renowned for the signature cocktails. But to be fair, I wasn’t that impressed by the cocktails.

 

Anyway, my red fruity ish cocktail, aka woman in love – thick and very fruity. Blackberry and raspberry puree is mixed with Pimm’s and archers liquor. I am not quite an alcoholic so I don’t know why I decided to go for an alcoholic cocktail, as I couldn’t appreciate what I was drinking.

Menus were based around modern French haute cuisine and is created by Chef Patron Chris Galvin, Head Chef André Garrett.

Looks absolutely delicious! But the moment the spoon hit my mouth, it was cold. Tasted like carrot puree and bacon. Lack of attention to detail. Disappointing.

After eating Martin Wishart’s sea bream ceviche, no other ceviche can impress me.

Scallops ceviche, kohlrabi, cucumber, blood orange and soy.

Didn’t quite like my scallops ceviche. I found it quite bitter and it ruined my palate for the rest of the meal. Regrets.

Ballotine of chicken, foie gras, celeriac and truffle mayonaise.

This was good. But I think after having 2 pretty cold starters, I wasn’t quite expecting another cold dish. Truffle mayonnaise went well with the ballotine of chicken and brioche. Glad we had the brioche as that is probably the only bread I love.

Poached fillet of cornish brill, herb potato crust, enoki, shellfish and dashi broth.

Love the enoki shellfish dash broth.

Food – in comparison to the plate.

saddle of scottish venison, smoked alsace bacon, braised shoulder beignet, red cabbage, watercress and sauce grand veneer.

Although my friend said that this was probably his best ever venison dish, this tasted pretty bloody to me.

In between dishes, we had too much time that we entertained ourselves with portrait shots. I guess that was the only enjoyable moment in the restaurant for me. Not the food, but the company of my good friend in London.

We had too much time that we played with our phones.

To be honest, it took a bit long to serve our desserts. Became a bit impatient.

cinnamon pannacotta, mulled wine foam and orange doughnut.

hmmm….I didn’t quite like the mulled wine foam to be honest…..a bit too bitter but went ok with the pannacotta. not my favourite.. Love the orange doughnut though.

You can tell alcohol in my desserts is a taboo.

 

white chocolate mousse, blueberry compote and green tea ice cream.

Probably my favourite dish of the whole meal. I like the green tea ice cream very much as it was very light and refreshing! One of the best sorbet I ever had. Was inspired to make sorbets after this. Now to find a fridge that fits my ice-cream maker, or perhaps upgrade my ice-cream maker to one that can go without freezing the ice-cream container. 

Best part of the meal was writing postcards and we could send the postcard out of the country as well which was amazing.

95 pounds for a tasting menu. Worth it? That’s is not including the 12.5% service charge. One cocktail was 15 pounds. Overpriced for what I was served. Wasn’t impressed at all. However, my dining companion said otherwise. He enjoyed every single moment of it. I supposed taste is pretty subjective. If you have tried too many michelin star restaurants, everything just becomes mediocre.

Service was good though. Professional and accommodating.

Service: *****

Food: ***

Atmosphere: ****

Price: ****

Perhaps I just had a bad dining experience by picking all the wrong dishes. Felt that some of my dishes lacked attention to detail. Looking at other people’s reviews, they seem to have enjoyed their meals and their dishes surely did looked much more presentable and delicious than what I had!

A nice one off experience eating in a michelin star restaurant situated on the 28th floor, but probably wouldn’t come back again in a very very long time!

Galvin at Windows on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

