Dorayaki recipe (Japanese red bean pancake recipe)

I decided to make dorayaki, after skirting through some photos of dorayaki on Facebook.

I thought….pancakes bah….shouldn’t be tooooo difficult I hope.

It was pretty difficult to control the fire in my kitchen. Somehow, I think an electric hob does a better job than gas when it comes to making pancakes? But I may be wrong. My theory.

I remember how I used to watch doraemon when I was a child and love how doraemon really loves his dorayaki! Makes me wonder how does dorayaki taste like…

Dorayaki is basically a red bean filling sandwiched between two pancakes. A wonderful Japanese dessert.

I used to eye how 4 dorayaki was sold in a package in the freezer compartment in the chinese supermarket for £6! Does feel like a rip off doesn’t it. Guess it’s more worth it making this at home!

My wonderful attempts to make dorayaki. I would not dare to take any praise for these as they look browner in appearance, not burnt. Still taste pretty good, just not quite as presentable. I probably should have reduced the amount of water added into the batter, or perhaps measure the amount of baking powder I was adding into the batter. Also, it would have helped to have my standing mixer in helping me whisk the eggs. I think that would have really helped as I don’t think I have whisked enough.

Nevertheless, taste great.

You can find better picture illustration on how to make dorayaki on this website below:

http://justonecookbook.com/blog/recipes/dorayaki-japanese-red-bean-pancake/

Guess one advice for myself would be not to make dorayaki after a cooking spree of chicken rice and kueh tiao soup as I lost my patience completely while waiting for the dorayaki to cook….maybe that’s why they look browner. Lack of attention to detail, lack of patience to control the heat and timing.

It is crucial that the pan has to be fairly medium heated so that the dorayaki will rise whilst cooking, as if the heat is too low, it takes almost 15 minutes to cook one side and the dorayaki did not rise (you don’t see bubbles rising on the surface). I had experimented with the extremes of heat and settled for medium heat. Even so, I can’t stop my dorayaki from looking so brown, not burnt.

Just means more practice…

But I put the recipe on for those who have requested for it.

Just a few pictures below to entice my readers on what I cooked for dinner tonight.

My usual chicken rice

and….

Kueh tiao soup.

Kueh tiao soup was a bit of a failure…cuz I have transported most of my ingredients over to my new flat and hence lacked the authentic sarawak white peppery taste. What a shame. Also…felt that I could have been more generous with using more chicken carcasses to enhance the taste.

Oh well…

Anyway, the dorayaki recipe which I will reference from this website:

http://justonecookbook.com/blog/recipes/dorayaki-japanese-red-bean-pancake/

Dorayaki recipe:

Ingredients:

4 eggs

140g sugar

2 tbsp honey

160g all purpose flour

1 tsp baking powder

1-2 tbsp water

1 18oz/520g can Ogura-An, or homemade sweetened red bean paste

Steps:

1) In a large bowl, combine eggs, sugar, and honey and whisk well until the mixture gets fluffy.

2) Sift flour and baking powder into the bowl and mix. Keep in the fridge to rest for 15 minutes.

3) Stir in ½ Tbsp of water at a time to get the right consistency. It should be a little bit thicker than pancake batter. If the batter is too thin, Dorayaki buns will be too flat and not fluffy.

4) Heat a large non-stick frying pan on medium-low to medium heat. Dip the paper towel in oil and coat the bottom of the pan with the oil. The pan should be slightly oiled but shouldn’t be visible. That’s the secret to get nice texture on the surface of Dorayaki. With a ladle, drop the batter from 1 foot above the pan to create 3 inch diameter “pancake”. When you see the surface of batter starts to bubble, flip over and cook the other side. Transfer to a plate and cover up with damp towel to prevent from drying. Continue making pancakes

5) Make sandwich with red bean paste. Put more red bean paste in the center so the shape of Dorayaki will be curved (middle part should be higher). Quickly wrap them with saran wrap until you ready to serve.

 

 

Will definitely practise again. This time using my standing mixer to whisk the eggs till totally fluffy and repost the pictures. 

6 thoughts on “Dorayaki recipe (Japanese red bean pancake recipe)

  1. Thanks for trying my dorayaki recipe! It’s true… to get the perfect color (but not over cook or dry), it requires some patience, which I’m not very good at too! Glad to hear you still enjoy it. Thank you so much for linking back to my post. I hope you don’t mind that I share your link on my fan page. 🙂

  2. haha don’t mind at all! I have to thank you for sharing your recipe or else I would not have been able to enjoy dorayaki at all! Your step by step illustration is definitely very helpful for all the readers who wants to make dorayaki!
    Still need more practice to get the perfect colour. Love your dorayaki colour!
    Love your blog! Thanks!!

  3. I think those recipes are awesome would love to have them in my library of recipes if there’s any way I can go online or have them sent to my email address that would be wonderful.

  4. Do you think it’s okay to substitute the sugar in the recipe with coconut sugar? I’m worried that the taste would change too much.

Leave a Reply

