Buttermilk country cake recipe

Sorry for the long hiatus. The hiatus would probably get worse in the next two weeks as I just moved to a new flat and I don’t have internet in my new flat. Apparently, the engineers are still in the midst of trying to arrange for someone to climb the pole outside my flat to get my line sorted. It’s been nearly two weeks but I see no line.

Managed to get online today thanks to my ex-housemate who let me stayed in glasgow for a night and I could finally get online tonight! So will blog the recipes I have accumulated over the past one week while I still can!

Being in a new flat without internet and a TV can be really boring. My body clock has also become a bit  haywire as I now sleep in the evening for hours then getting up at like 10pm and baking at 2am in the morning. My neighbours must have mourned having me around working my kitchen mixer in the early hours of the morning.

Just started living in my new flat this week. Decided to try out how good is the oven.

I have to say I am actually quite impressed that the cake is pretty evenly cooked. Even more so impressed that a simple recipe such as a buttermilk country cake tasted really really awesome!

I decided to try a very simple recipe just so that if the oven doesn’t work well, I don’t mourn big time over wasted ingredients and time spent. To my surprise, a simple recipe as such yield such a good result that I am very motivated to bake this again. Moist and tasted similar to a Madeira cake. Definitely better than any waitrose or marks and spencers madeira cake though.

Joel tried so hard so stop eating it….LOL…

Ok…I should have been more patient in taking the baking parchment off the cake than ripping it off the sides. Was kinda impatient as I wanted to start decorating the cake…

Decided to decorate it simple. Poured some bonne maman strawberry jam, dunked some strawberries at the top and sprinkled with some grated white chocolate.

Awesome combination.

Not too bad. I think I know how my oven works now…

Only thing is I have been reading reviews of my new oven Lamona brand provided by the landlord. Never heard of the brand before and decided to google….only to read horror stories by reviewers!

Some say:

‘Sudden pop the glass shattered into tiny shards all over the food.’

They are rubbish! I would never use one of these out of choice and would never recommend them.’

‘The inside glass has shattered twice with me now and for no obvious reason.’

‘The oven element broke after just 2 years.’

Horror of horrors!!! And to think I had a pretty good oven….actually NOT! In fact one of the lowest range of oven brands! 

Ok…don’t scare myself so sooooon! But I can’t help feeling scared reading all these reviews because I do use the oven big time!

I guess nothing can ever beat the Bosch oven I had in my flat in Huddersfield 2 years ago. That was probably the best oven I have ever worked with so far…and everything in my flat then were Bosch equipped (fridge, dishwasher etc…).. I definitely know now what to buy and what not to for my future house!

Aside the horror stories, I have been down to Glasgow today, to make a sushi party for a friend’s/cell member’s birthday! Now completely obsessed with my dragon roll, I have been making this for everyone I know…and practice definitely makes perfect! Getting better each time I make this. 

I left all my sesame seeds in Largs….so had to improvise with all my chives.

Love the smell of chives…

Quite impressed I managed to make all the sushi despite being down by a left thumb and left index finger. Was cleaning my chopping board and accidentally forcefully knocked my global knife with my right hand causing the knife to fly onto my left fingers. Left me with a stun before I saw blood. 2 immediate lacerations on both fingers of my left hand! NOOO! Disabling! But managed to struggle through and finished making all that sushi. Thanks to an amazing plaster which managed to forcefully hold the lacerated edges together after much pressure and waterproof as well… As good as steristrips.

At least I know now that Global knives are defo defo sharp! LOL…didn’t have to test the sharpness this way though…

Have not cut my fingers for years! Didn’t expect to slice my fingers this way…

Anyway,

Aunty Yochanna buttermilk country cake. 

http://auntyyochana.blogspot.co.uk/2007/06/buttermilk-country-cake.html

Ingredients:

80 gm. egg yolks

160 gm. buttermilk

5 gm. vanilla (1 tsp)

200 gm. sifted cake flour

200 gm. sugar

15 gm. baking powder

1/8 tsp. salt

120 gm. butter

Preheat oven to 170 celcius. (non-fan)

(1) In a bowl, lightly combine the yolks with 40 ml. of the buttermilk.

(2) In a mixing bowl, combine all the dry ingredients and mix on low speed for 30 secs to blend.

(3) Add the butter and remaining buttermilk. Mix on low speed until the dry ingredients are moistened. Increase to medium speed and beat for 2 mins. to aerate and develop the cake’s stucture.

(4) Gradually add in the egg yolk mixture and beat for another min.

(5) Pour batter into an 8″ round pan and bake for about 50 to 60 mins. or till skewer inserted comes out clean.

(6) Let the cake cool in the pan on a rack for 10 mins then invert the cake onto a cooling rack and leave to cool completely.

(7) Slice and serve.

2 thoughts on “Buttermilk country cake recipe

  1. Hey your cake looks really good. I’ve recently moved into a house that has a lamona oven. I’ve tried all the modes but my cake is not getting cooked correctly 😦 it’s almost like its steamed not baked. Can you tel me what mode you used? Is it the top and bottom one?

    • Hey! Thanks for the compliment! Am currently not in the country but if I am not mistaken, it is the top and bottom one. Not sure if we have the same Lamona oven to be telling you the right mode I am using. I don’t quite trust Lamona ovens so I am not sure if it’s the Lamona oven which is playing up as it’s strange that your cake is like steamed not baked.

Leave a Reply

