Fettuccine Alle Cipolle Recipe

I don’t cook things that are way too complicated all the time. There are days when i just crave for something really simple such as a pasta dish. Cooked this at my sister’s house in York.

Ok perhaps not quite as simple as you need to make the pasta sauce from scratch…but considered simple as compared to the other cooking I make… LOLz…

I admit midway through cooking this pasta dish, I felt as though everything was going in the wrong direction as the sauce tasted somewhat strange…..not quite accustomed to white wine ish pasta sauce taste….But at the end of the cooking, the dish just taste sooooo brilliant that I really couldn’t stop eating….and I really do mean it! My sisters had to snatch the huge bowl away from me!

I am sorry the photo just look so out of colour…I could not take photos in my sister’s house as their lighting was yellow and my photo just looked horrible. Took it out to the garden where there was a bit of sunlight…lighting not great at all..

But anyway,

Fettuccine Alle Cipolle Recipe (adapted by….I have to really apologise the the author of the pasta book…I really cannot remember your name. Kept a recipe in my phone without writing your name down. Extremely apologetic)

Serves 4

6 tablespoons olive oil

3 large onions, peeled and finely sliced

1 carrot, peeled and finely grated

1 tablespoon freshly chopped rosemary

200g minced lamb

200ml white wine

300ml vegetable stock

400g fresh fettuccine or egg tagliatelle

100g freshly grated Parmesan cheese

Salt and pepper to taste

Tomato puree, approx 2 tbsp

1) Heat the olive oil in a large saucepan and fry the onions, carrot and rosemary for 5 minutes over a medium heat until softened and golden. Stir occasionally with a wooden spoon.

2) Add the lamb and mix well allowing the meat to crumble. Continue to cook for 5 minutes stirring frequently unit the meat has browned all over.

3) Pour in the wine and cook for a further 3 minutes to allow the alcohol to evaporate. Season with salt and pepper and pour in the stock. Add tomato puree into the sauce. Bring to the boil then lower the heat and simmer, uncovered, for 30 minutes. Stir every 10 minutes.

4) Meanwhile cook the pasta in a large saucepan of boiling salted water until al dente.

5) Drain the pasta and immediately add to the meat sauce. Increase the heat to high and gently mix the sauce and the pasta together for 30 seconds to allow the sauce to coat the pasta evenly. Stir constantly.

6) Serve immediately, topped with the freshly grated Parmesan cheese.

Leave a Reply

