Tiramisu cheesecake recipe

I have a little story to tell..

A distant memory…

Happened when I was a year 2 medical student.

When the real baking first started…

It was because of somebody’s birthday, and through the massive encouragement from one of my housemates, I decided to bravely accept the challenge of baking my first ever cake which turned out to be successful. I only tried baking twice prior to this and both attempts were nothing but complete failure. The defeated me actually made a promise to myself that I will never ever bake again. I was baking only for the sake of baking. Why bake when cakes fail, ingredients wasted, and everything goes into the bin just because nobody wanted to eat the cakes.

I was extremely defeated..

until..

It was his birthday. One of my housemate, who is an excellent cook himself, told me that the best way to touch a person’s heart is to bake from the heart.

Hence, I baked my first ever cake – Tiramisu cheesecake.

Decided on this cheesecake because it wasn’t too technical.

and seem to be achievable.

and so I continued since, to bake and cook from the heart…before I realised that I was starting to get pretty good at it and enjoy it thoroughly!

The only thing I can say now to the person is, thank you very much for being there one chapter of my life, or I would never have gone this far and realise that I can achieve what I once thought was the impossible.

People come into your life, for a reason, a season.. to share, to grow, to learn. They give you an unbelievable amount of joy, but only for a season. The people you meet, help create who you are, teaching you how to love, opened your eyes to things, discover things that you never once knew. They guide you, support you emotionally, spiritually and physically. When they walked away, their work is done. We move on.

That’s my little story.

I will now share the recipe of the first cake I ever made, which to me, was delicious although simple.

Tiramisu cheesecake without the alcohol version:

Serves 6,

For the base:

85g butter, plus more for the pan

175g ginger biscuits, crushed

50g pecans, finely chopped

For the filling:

175g plain chocolate

150ml double cream

225g mascarpone cheese

1 tbsp cold strong black coffee

50g caster sugar

To decorate:

25g plain chocolate

225g mascarpone cheese

100g thick Greek yoghurt

25g pecans, roughly chopped

cocoa, for sprinkling

Steps:

1. Make the base: Melt the butter in a pan and stir in the crushed biscuits and pecans. Press into the base of a lightly greased 17.5cm/7 inch round fluted flan pan. Chill.

2. Make the filling: Melt the chocolate in a bowl set over a pan of simmering water; allow to cool slightly. Whip the cream until stiff. Beat the mascarpone in a bowl with the coffee, sugar and chocolate. Gently fold in the cream. Pour into the flan pan and smooth the top. Chill until firm.

3. Meanwhile, melt the chocolate for decoration in a  bowl over a pan of simmering water; allow to cool.

4. Transfer the cheesecake onto a serving plate. Mix together the mascarpone and yoghurt and swirl over the top of the cheesecake. Drizzle over the chocolate and sprinkle liberally with the pecans and cocoa.

2 thoughts on “Tiramisu cheesecake recipe

Leave a Reply

