Pierre Herme’s Vienesse Chocolate Sables

I once ate some chocolate cookies bought from a small shop in Malaysia. I loved the cookies so much that I wanted to replicate them ever so desperately because I know that my small jar of cookies is going to finish some day and the jar will remain empty unless I refill it with something similar.

I was still hunting around for a perfect recipe which would help me feel sentimental and then I stumbled across this recipe which delivers pretty similar results.

Would definitely try the recipe again when I have another cookie crave. One thing I would do differently is that next time I would use a bigger piping tip as the mixture is quite stiff-ish so it was relatively difficult to pipe the shape of a star. Hence you can see why my cookies are taking a round ish shape instead.

Thanks to http://fuzzymazing.blogspot.co.uk/2014/08/pierre-hermes-vienesse-chocolate-sables.html for sharing this recipe on her website and I could be blessed with wonderful yummylicious cookies!

 

Pierre Herme’s Vienesse Chocolate Sables

Ingredients:

260g all purpose flour

30g Dutch processed cocoa powder (I used Valrhona.)

250g butter

100g powder sugar, sifted

a pinch of salt

3 tbsp egg white

 

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 180C.
  2. Whisk together, flour and cocoa powder and set aside.
  3. In a mixing bowl, whisk butter until creamy. To ensure that the recipe succeeds, the butter needs to be very soft.
  4. Add in powder sugar and salt to butter and continue to whisk until light and creamy.
  5. Whisk in egg white until it is well combined with butter cream.
  6. Add in flour & cocoa powder, mix until well combined.
  7. Spoon dough into a piping bag fitted with a star tip. Pipe dough into W shaped cookies. (I just piped into a star, just like Dahlia cookies.)
  8. Bake cookies at 180C for 10-12 mins – no more. The cookies will be delicate – transfer carefully into cookie jar after cooled.

Recipe from Chocolate Desserts by Pierre Herme by Dori Greenpan.

Source: atkokken.

Leave a Reply

