Dragon roll recipe

After I found Nami’s website teaching me how to make dorayaki, I was looking at her beautiful dragon rolls recipe and got very excited about making it.

Efforts were not in vain. Love the dragon roll. Only pity was I did not make the unagi sauce as I only looked at the recipe AFTER I finished making the roll. So decided to omit it.

I think the most painstaking process of making the dragon roll is slicing the avocado and prepping the prawns for tempura. Making the roll itself isn’t too difficult for me as I have learnt to make sushi rolls before in the past when I worked as a part-time sushi chef.

Nami’s website has definitely made me very inspired to make Japanese food!

I never have any good outcomes with my shrimp tempura. Nevertheless, I decided to try Nami’s website on how to make shrimp tempura. Recipe for her shrimp tempura can be found here: http://justonecookbook.com/blog/recipes/shrimp-tempura/

You can choose to make the tempura flour from scratch, or pop by a chinese/Japanese supermarket and buy their ready made tempura flour which makes things fairly straightforward and easy.

Dragon roll ingredients adapted from Nami’s website to yield 2 rolls


    • 1 1/2 cups sushi rice
    • 1/2 cucumber
    • 1 avocados
    • 1/2 lemon
    • 1 nori sheet
    • 6 shrimp tempura
    • 1/8 cup Tobiko
    • Unagi (eel) – optional

For toppings

    • Spicy Mayo
    • Black sesame seeds

Vinegar water for dipping hands (Tezu) – I used Japanese mayonnaise to lubricate my hands

    • 1/4 cup water
    • 2 tsp. rice vinegar

Things you will need

  • Bamboo sushi mat
  • Plastic wrap

Step-by-step on how to make this dragon roll can be referred to Nami’s website which she has clearly demonstrated:

http://justonecookbook.com/blog/recipes/dragon-roll/

Her spicy mayo recipe:

http://justonecookbook.com/blog/how-to/spicy-mayo-recipe/

I did not make the unagi sauce because I realised that it needed boiling etc and cooling down. At the time, I have already finished making the rolls. So decided to skip this. In future, remember to make the unagi sauce first before I start making everything else.

7 thoughts on “Dragon roll recipe

  1. I saw that on Nami’s blog too! Your rolls look very delicious! I think I may have to make them soon! Btw, I love your sushi picture on the top! I miss some good sushi!

    • haha! yup!! I was super inspired after seeing the rolls on her blog! U shud make them soon too!
      I love your photos on your blog! Very professional!! 🙂 Will look to see if I can try your recipes too sometime heehee

      • Yes, Nami’s recipes are amazing!
        Thank you so much! My husband usually takes most of the pictures. I hope you will try some of my recipes soon!

  2. Hi Stephanie! WOW… I’m very impressed with your beautiful dragon roll! I’m happy that my dragon roll inspired you to make one. The avocado is lining up perfectly too. Thank you for trying the recipe and linking back to me. You made my day!! xoxo

    • Hi Nami! Thanks for the compliments! =) I did try to make dragon roll once in the past but it wasn’t successful at all, partly because I didn’t know how a dragon roll should be like and how I should be cutting the avocado. Thanks for showing how to do it on ur blog! 🙂 The dragon roll was challenging but good fun! Looking forward for interesting and more challenging sushi by u! xx

Leave a comment