California roll recipe

I thought that staying in Glasgow post-nights on call is just a bit too depressing so decided to make a trip down to Leeds/York to visit my sisters/friends.

On the first night, my sisters requested me to make dragon roll. I thought I would like to try Nami’s california roll since I am making sushi.

It was delicious. I forgot to put avocados into my california roll!!! But it still tasted delicious.

I still think the dragon roll is the most amazing sushi though.

I improved on my tempura and now I think it is quite ‘perfect’ and improved my dragon roll presentation by purposely not making it look too messy this time! Forgot the sesame seeds as garnish. *feeling slightly gutted*

Made my usual salmon roll. Presentation still a lot to work on! LOLss

We did have one hell of a sushi party in York with my sisters and my sister’s friends.

Never felt so satisfied. Of all the sushi I made, dragon roll was the big hit!

Now for the california roll recipe:

 

Ingredients to yield 2 rolls: (amount of ingredients adapted from Nami’s just one cookbook. http://justonecookbook.com/blog/recipes/california-roll/ )

  • 1 1/2 cup Sushi Rice
  • 1 can (170g) crab meat
  • 8 Tbsp. (½ cup) Japanese mayonnaise
  • ½ English cucumbers
  • 1/2 avocado
  • ½ lemon for avocado (optional)
  • 2 nori sheets
  • ¼ cup white sesame seeds / tobiko
  • For garnish, I used ikura (salmon roe), tobiko (flying fish roe), pickled sushi ginger, and wasabi.

Again the step-by-step illustrations by Nami is so meticulous that I did not even try to take anymore step-by-step pictures as they can be painstakingly difficult to do so + Nami’s website explains it so well that I can just refer everyone who wants to make california rolls to her website.

http://justonecookbook.com/blog/recipes/california-roll/

Have fun!